Early Years Foundation Stage

Planning Our Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

Our Early Years curriculum is designed around the needs of our young children and is organised into seven areas of Learning and Development.

These are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

Here are the main components of each of the seven areas.

Personal, Social and Emotional experiences are about:
  • Self Regulation
  • Managing Self
  • Building Relationships
Physical Development experiences are about:
  • Gross Motor Skills
  • Fine Motor Skill
Communication and Language experiences are about:
  • Listening, Attention and Understanding
  • Speaking
Literacy experiences are about:
  • Word Reading
  • Comprehension
  • Writing
Mathematics experiences are about:
  • Number
  • Numerical Patterns
Understanding the World experiences are about:
  • Past and Present
  • People, Culture and Communities
  • The Natural World
Expressive Arts & Design experiences are about:
  • Creating with Materials
  • Being Imaginative and Expressive

We plan through a topic based approach. To keep you well informed our topics and activities are displayed:

  • In the classroom (Medium term/weekly Planning)


Throughout the year we organise exciting activities, outings and visits/visitors to enhance the children’s learning. We also invite parents to come in and share different events and learning opportunities.

The Outdoor Area

Reception Classrooms